University Life; My tips and tricks

So that is me officially finished my first year of University.. Very scary! It has definitely been an interesting year and has been quite hard at times but also a very eye-opening and fun experience!

I wanted to share with you the advice and tips I would give to people maybe returning to University, starting University or perhaps someone just thinking about it!

I really wish I had, had access to a handbook of all the ‘do’s’ and ‘do not’s’ when I was starting first year but part of the process is figuring it out by yourself what to do and realising that there is no right or wrong way to do it, its however you approach it – this sounds daunting but you don’t even realise that until you are reflecting back!

 

IMG_8727

 

Just go with the flow and consider these below tips and I promise you will be fine :

Join a club – I didn’t even considered joining a club, yet this was one of the best decisions I could have made at University. You get to meet people from your course, have movie nights, events, balls, day trips and it really does make it better.

This is also a really good way to meet friends with similar interests and ask for guidance from older members. Everyone really was so welcoming and nice and I would definitely recommend it!

Room Decorating – If you have taken the tough but brave decision to move away from home to University then you will be moving into student accommodation. This means a big trip to Ikea, no doubt countless Pinterest boards and probably a lot of nerves!

My one piece of advice on this is to not buy new everything for your room. I would take items you like from your bedroom at home or things you have bought with loved ones to place in your room so that your environment doesn’t feel that different and the leap from moving out is not so great as it will still feel familiar!

Photo on 11-09-2016 at 11.09 #3.jpg

Push yourself out of your comfort zone just a little bit – I know that this is a lot easier said than done but it really does work. I am quite a shy person as I think most are and I really wanted to make friends at University but at the same time really wanted to hide in my room!

Saying a simple ‘hello’ to somebody you are sitting next to on your course or even just giving someone a smile will gradually build up yo
ur courage and confidence and is a good way to make yourself feel more comfortable.  Never worry about not making friends as I promise you will – there is someone out there for everyone!
IMG_2172.JPG

Finally, Please remember – even if it doesn’t seem it  e v e r y o n e  is as nervous as you are to start University even if they do not appear to be!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

